KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 15 December 2011.

PRESENT: Mrs P A V Stockell (Chairman) Mr R E King (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen. Mr M J Angell, Mr R W Bayford, Mr R E Brookbank. Mr J R Bullock, MBE, Mr R B Burgess. Ms S J Carev. Mr P B Carter, Mr N J D Chard, Mr I S Chittenden, Mr L Christie, Mrs P T Cole, Mr N J Collor, Mr G Cooke. Mr B R Cope, Mr G Cowan, Mr H J Craske, Mr A D Crowther, Mr J M Cubitt. Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mrs T Dean, Mr J A Davies. Mr K A Ferrin, MBE, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Mrs E Green, Mr M J Harrison, Mr W A Hayton, Mr P M Hill, OBE, Mr D A Hirst, Ms A Hohler, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr E E C Hotson, Mr M J Jarvis, Mr A J King, MBE, Mr J D Kirby, Mrs J P Law, Mr R J Lees, Mr J A Kite. Mr P W A Lake, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, TD, Mr K G Lynes, Mr S C Manion, Mr R F Manning, Mr R A Marsh, Mr M J Northey, Mr R J Parry, Mr T Prater, Mr K H Pugh, Mr L B Ridings, MBE, Mrs J A Rook, Mr A Sandhu, MBE, Mr J D Simmonds, Mr C P Smith, Mr K Smith, Mr M V Snelling, Mr B J Sweetland, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E M Tweed, Mr M J Vye, Mrs C J Waters, Mr J N Wedgbury, Mr M J Whiting, Mrs J Whittle, Mr M A Wickham and Mr A T Willicombe

IN ATTENDANCE: Geoff Wild, Director of Governance and Law and Peter Sass, Head of Democratic Services

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

93. Apologies for Absence

The Director of Governance and Law reported apologies from the following Members:

Mr Andrew Bowles
Mr David Brazier
Mr Chris Capon
Mrs Valerie Dagger
Mr Peter Homewood
Mr George Koowaree
Mr Jan Ozog
Mr Richard Pascoe

94. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest by any Member on the item contained in this agenda.

95. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

- (1) The Chairman announced that it was her great privilege and honour to preside over this special meeting of the County Council to confer the award of Honorary Alderman to eight of its most distinguished former Members, who had been judged to have provided eminent services, both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.
- (2) The Chairman welcomed the nominees and their guests to the meeting, although she noted that Mr Findlay, Mr Palmer and Mr Pears were unable to attend the meeting but had all expressed their delight and honour at being nominated.
- (3) The three Group Leaders all spoke briefly to introduce their nominations.

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: that the following distinguished former Members of Kent County Council be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman:

Mr Christopher Brown Mr Charles Findlay Mr Ivor Jones, DL Mr Ronnie Norman Mr John Palmer Mr Terry Pears Lady Pender, DL Mr Kit Thornton

- (4) The Chairman announced the intention to hold a reception in the new year to present all the Honorary Aldermen with their Honorary Aldermen badges. She then presented the newly appointed Honorary Aldermen with their scrolls.
- (5) Mr Thornton responded in suitable terms on behalf of the newly appointed Honorary Aldermen and offered his sincere gratitude for the honour bestowed upon them by the County Council.